summer reading list

I actually don’t have a list written out, just some things in mind that I’d like to have read by the end of summer.  But I call it my summer reading list, anyway, just to make myself feel good.  😉

Currently reading (I have book ADD, so help me):

Leave Me Alone, I’m Reading by Maureen Corrigan.  A literature professor reflects upon her life in relation to different plots/themes found in literature.  Only a couple chapters in so far; so far, a pleasure.

Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe.  Been meaning to finish this one for a while.  It’s not often I get to read a novel authored by a non-Westerner, and an excellent one at that.

Sense and Sensibility. ‘nough said.

The Betrayal by Douglas Bond.  A historical novel on John Calvin.  I haven’t read a good “Christian” historical fiction work in quite a while, and I am really enjoying this one.  Calvin?  Yes.  I am a seminary  nerd.

The Bible and the Future by Anthony Hoekema.  Thanks to a theological conversation partner, Doyle, for recommending this one.  Finally, a book on eschatology NOT given from a dispensational premillennial view.  Something to chew on.

Next up:

Vintage Church by Mark Driscoll.

The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Don Miller.

Anything else I should be reading?

What are you reading this summer?

Tagged ,

One thought on “summer reading list

  1. kwihee says:

    read my lips, i’m reading between the lines. read it and weep. i wish i could read your expression in reading this… i could go on.

    eh, what is reading again? higher education seems to have ruined me for reading.

Leave a Reply

