vast dichotomy

I wonder a lot.  This is just another pondering, and hopefully not too controversial for the lover of peace that I am, coming up with blog ideas when I am supposed to be studying. 🙂  Oh, and this is also slightly related to Nate’s recent blog entry here.

Question to ponder…do you think that those who claim Christianity and shun the “secular” (meaning, anything not related to the church, whether it be media [films, music, books, art, etc.], culture, events, people, customs, etc.), staying inside the “sacred” bubble, are partly to blame for the increasingly “post-Christian” America?  And if so, what can be done to remedy that?

To use a not-so-great-but-sufficient illustration, say people never left a Christian bookstore, like Dightman’s, because it’s supposed to be a safe, relatively moral bubble for everyone.  They stayed because everything in the outside world is dirty and scary.  One brave soul ventures into the outside world, and is utterly shocked to find the rampant ungodliness, wondering how it became that way.  Shocked as shocked can be, she flees back to the Bubble where it is warm and safe, and warns everyone inside not to go outside, otherwise they’ll become dirty and scared (and maybe even scarred).

This may be my cynical self coming out again (slightly 🙂 ), but I think about stuff nonetheless, and I don’t know that I’ve come up with a solid answer yet.

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “vast dichotomy

  1. Ty says:

    i’ve pondered the same thing and I do think it is at the very least partly responsible. I think that while the church is busy bashing the government for allowing such moral decline they don’t seem to realize that heart change happens at the individual level through disciple making.

    Of course, I also see the pendulum swinging too far and today’s “cool” Christians trying so hard to shed their church roots that they are indiscernible from the average athiest.

    I have seen doors open due to being willing to participate in the world and relate to it, but I’m also careful to not hate my ingrown baptist brothers and sisters like some I’ve seen.

    It’s an interesting balancing act 🙂

  2. Dionne C says:

    Balance is the key to anything. Balance in your diet, balance in your finances, balance in your work/family life. Same with balance in where you spend your time. Too much time in one area (let’s say the Christian Bookstore) will mean that we neglect the world that we are called to show Jesus to. Too much time out with those ‘dirty, scary people’ means that we’ll neglect feeding ourselves with the Word, and good counsel of other Christians. Balance is key.

  3. rachel anna says:

    “dirty scary people” seems harsh… as “christians” when we hide from the world, i think it is us who look scary. it’s sad when people live lives where they feel superior to others, and then, without compassion, feel the need to change people before they themselves have grown as an individual.
    I think that balance is what you make it. Everyone is different, and there isn’t some perfect mapped out plan for how we should act in all situations. Some people leave their so called “safe bubble” permanently and venture out into the world, and they are doing amazing things. They are some of the strongest most loving and non judgmental people I know. I don’t know. I have a lot of thoughts, they feel garbled and I honestly feel disheartned, because I feel like focusing on the negative, just adds to the problem.

  4. Ralina says:

    Thoughts of this nature often wade through my mind as well. There are a great many reasons that our country is swiftly moving into a post-Christian genre, and I would definitely agree that Christians keeping Jesus to themselves, so to speak, are one of those reasons.

    I have a cumbersome blog entry in my head on the subject of church and Christians that may someday get written and would definitely provide some good fodder for conversation =).

Leave a Reply

