tid bits in the midst of summer heat

The summer heat is seriously sucking out my brain juice.  All I want to do is curl up into a ball and take a nap in the refrigerator.  I know, bad idea, but with humidity and highs of between 105 and 110, I’m desperate.  Especially with the AC unit broken.

I was reflecting upon the days when I first discovered writing, and remembered that all I wrote was fiction.  Childish fiction (since I was a child), but fiction nonetheless.  I’m going to try my hand at it again and see what comes of it.  Probably won’t see it on here, though.

And, I’ve decided not to talk/write about what I’m going to write, because it seems to spoil the writing.  If you were superstitious, you would probably say my writing becomes jinxed once I blab about it.

If you use blogger, you may not know this, but with wordpress, I can see daily blog stats, and I know someone (or many someones)  is reading my blog.  I don’t know who you are, but I see from whence you have come, if you happen to click a link to my blog from another source.  And that is how I know there is this anonymous person who has been accessing my blog from another friend’s blog (two cent thoughts) numerous times a day (sometimes looking at 10-20 of my posts daily).  There has also been an anonymous person clicking on my twitter feed (to your right) multiple times a day (coincidentally, on the same days when my blog is accessed through two cent thoughts).  I’m inclined to believe they are the same person, but they haven’t commented on any of my posts (even after looking at between 10-20 of them).  Now, I’m not scared that someone is stalking me.  That’s not the reason for this blurb.  I’m just curious what your name is.  What if we’re friends?  Please speak up.  If you’re shy and prefer not to say anything, that’s okay, but I’m afraid curiosity will slay me in the end.  If I had a more popular blog, I probably wouldn’t even be writing this, but because my blog is so little and of so little consequence (and I like to be friends with the people who read it), I’d like to know who is so utterly fascinated with my blog and my twitter updates.  That’s all.

Tagged , , , ,

10 thoughts on “tid bits in the midst of summer heat

  1. lol, it’s not me clicking on the links, because I read your blog through a feed reader. 😉 And I have Twitter. But you already knew that. 😉

    I’m trying to get back into writing too. I always loved it as a kid (not fiction though, I had a phobia of sorts about that), and studied journalism in college. I’m trying to get into writing fiction now though. But I never have any story IDEAS. I’m fine at writing once I have ideas but until then, forget it! We should make a little secret reading/writing club or something, like you have when you’re like 9 years old with your “BFF” and you write all your stories on pretty paper. Not that I would know anything about that. 😉

    • Sabrina says:

      lol, jordan, thanks for clearing that up. we can now be 200% sure you are not my ghost follower. 😉

      i didn’t know you studied journalism – that’s neat! we should truly form a secret club. and i know what you mean about having ideas. i think sometimes you just have to take whatever’s in your head (whether you think it’s a ‘good’ or ‘bad’ idea) and just run with it. it might turn out to be really good. 🙂

  2. kwihee says:

    hehehe. it’s zachary levi, bri. tyler being the doomsday messenger that he is, thinks it’s a “computer program.” w/e. i don’t see but one click from jen’s site today so maybe they read our blogs and are freaked out. drats.

    you should post your fiction on here! i want to read it darn it!

  3. Dionne C says:

    Hahahaha, you are my hero! I can’t believe you mentioned the frequent-visitor on here! I know how you feel, but I don’t have the guts to mention it on my blog. I feel like posting – “person from Duluth, Minnesota who checked my page 22 times in one day, Mystery Person from Milwaukee WI who stopped by 39 times yesterday, and person from Fairbury IL who checked my page 19 times yesterday – reveal yourselves!!!!”

    (it took me a while to type this, because I went to my stat counter and counted their visits, haha).

    • kwihee says:

      wait, dionne, how as one on blogger.com are you able to access stats of who visited you? i can’t on my blogger account.

    • Sabrina says:

      Haha. Why not mention it? It’s my blog, after all. 😉 Besides, I figured if I was going to die from curiosity, I might as well spill my guts.

  4. musicalcheshire says:

    So you’re going to write as your brain is melting away? Well, some of the best works of fiction were written by those of questionable mental status! Write away my friend! Perhaps yours will be the first book on the shelves of our new bookstore/cafe/takeover! And now that you’re all grown up, I’m sure your writing has changed. You still may not like it, but who really does like their own work 100%?

    Good luck with your semi-secret admirer!

  5. Dionne C says:

    Sabrina, does your friend that the mystery person is coming to you from have a tracker? If they do, maybe they can look up the person that leaves their site to go to yours. I can see on mine when people pop over to your site from mine, so maybe they can too? You should check with them.

    And oh my gosh – Kwihee – I didn’t realize you were Bren – the same blogger as Notes in B Minor, lol. I have an imported Stat Tracker in my blogger template. It tracks who comes, where they came from, where they leave to. There’s a bunch of different ones out there, Sitemeter, Statcounter. I recommend Statcounter, because they allow you to use their service without having to put a logo or widget on your page – I’ve been using it since December last year and really like it.

  6. Sabrina says:

    Yup, all wordpress accounts have daily blog stats (and my friend has wordpress), so she was able to tell me where the ghost was coming from. We don’t know who it is, though….

Leave a Reply

