people, please…

I usually don’t make strong political statements, because I dislike stirring up debate.   Even so, this is not considered a “strong political statement”, but I needed to get some stuff off my chest.  And this is not directed at anyone in particular, so please do not feel that I am targeting you.

People, please…

Are right-wing, conservative, Republican politics really the gospel?  I’ve yet to see someone effectively evangelized or converted by the forcing of right-wing politics down their throat, especially when the arguments are primarily ad hominem.

Change begins on the inside, and works its way out.  The reverse is not true.

Also, please do not think that just because I am a “Christian”, it means I am a Republican, or should be a Republican.  I do not wish to adopt political parties mindlessly, simply because it is the trend amongst those with beliefs similar to mine.  I do not think that the GOP is the elect political party.

Okay, the end (I hope).

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “people, please…

  1. Nancy says:

    I believe you are right…there are Christians on both ‘sides’ but don’t get offended either if it seems like the GOP are being shoved down the throat when they are being publicized more at the moment…

  2. kwihee says:

    sigh. you know where i stand on this sabrina. there was a time when i considered myself to be republican. the older i get and the more i observe, though, it seems it is backwards. instead of using the actual gospel to witness to the world, many conservatives who are active in politics seem to use it as THE avenue to witness to others as if homosexuality and abortion, though certainly not insignificant issues by any means, are the only key ways to make a case for Christianity. there seems to be a clear blurring of lines abt what is actually taking place. i may take a lot of flak for that statement but i cannot help but notice this tendency happening again and again. oh well, if my biggest problem is a conservative accusing me of compromising Scriptue by stating that, then it’s no skin off my back. i would much rather have them accuse me of that, than to subordinate the role the gospel should play as subservient.

  3. Dionne C says:

    All parties are faulted, because they have humans in them – so I really get frustrated when people say that any party is a “Christian” Party. I am totally with ya!

  4. Gabrielle says:

    I completely agree! 😀

Leave a Reply

