i blame it on summer heat

Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe”

~Philippians 2.14-15

I generally pride myself (yeah, I know), on being able to stifle my complaints.  Problem is, it’s not about what I can do, and I am sorely reminded of this as I watch the outside temperature climb.

Summer heat makes for a very grumpy me.  I wake up grumpy, even go to bed grumpy sometimes, and try as I might to stop them, I have complaints going through my head 24/7, mostly trying to blame other people for the way I feel.  I also blame the heat (at the moment, I’m thinking, “WHY did Mom put hot soup on the menu?  It’s a freaking 100 degrees outside!!!”).  But according to the passage above, this is not acceptable.  Not. At. All.  No exceptions.

See, if I tried all by myself to be blameless and perfect, I could certainly, indubitably pride myself on not complaining, since I alone am putting in all the effort; however, I’m not.  If not for Christ, I could not do any of that at all.  That’s what the whole of Philippians 2 is about, but here are verses 12 and 13, to add to the context.  (Also, think about the Philippians.  They were poor, very poor, and worried about Paul because he was in prison.  Very good reasons to complain, if you ask me.)

Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.”

It’s God.  It’s not just me.  Summer heat or not, I still have to work on being blameless and pure, because it’s God who works through me.  I cannot, and should not complain, because God has lavished his blessings on me, first and foremost through salvation.

In fact, I guess I should be thankful for the summer heat, because as a thorn in my side, it reminds me I can do nothing by my own strength.

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “i blame it on summer heat

  1. Sundi Jo says:

    Thank you for writing this – great stuff! Check out my latest blog – http://sundijo.wordpress.com/

    You can also follow me on twitter @sundi jo

    God Bless.

  2. Gabrielle says:

    I love the heat. That sucks for you :(. Maybe you can ask God to show you a side of the summer heat that you never considered before…? LOL. Something like that…

  3. Becky says:

    Wow! We lost power at the Library twice today because of the heat. I’ll admit I didn’t have a great attitude because of the sudden lack of AC.

  4. kwihee says:

    so that was my problem when i lived in california! too much darn heat and sunshine! i was pretty grumpy come to think of it. ;D it’s funny abt people and weather. so many people love the sun and the heat, and while i’m not particularly partial to those things, i have always detested hearing complaints abt it. i didn’t necessarily prefer the constant sunshine in cali, but i never complained abt it when i was living there. and i don’t like hearing the complaints up here in washington abt the lack of sun and all the rain. we are all adults. if you don’t like the weather somewhere, MOVE! there is my two cents. thanks for sharing your struggle with this. now take my advice and move your butt up here! ;D

  5. Nathan says:

    Heat makes me grouchy, too. Summer in L.A. is not a good place for me, but it does make me appreciate air conditioning. I can’t imagine how anyone lived south of Wyoming before A/C.

  6. Caroline says:

    I can sympathize. Here in Michigan, the summers get hot and worst of all, humid. Like breathing makes you feel like you might be drowning, but you have to keep doing it anyway. I am not a big fan of AC (it translates as “artificial, machine-processed air” in my head) but will use it in the case of emergencies, like when I open my car door and am slammed with a wall of heat so intense that I am shocked it doesn’t physically knock me over.

    On the patience/not complaining end, Philippians is my favorite book of the Bible and always gives me a gentle talking-to when I need it. Because really…we all need it. And Him. We all need Him too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

