the quest

I am a classic jack-of-many-trades.  Good at many things, I excel at nothing, and dabble in everything, right-brained and left-brained, creative and analytical, writing and mathematics; you get the picture.  I am still looking for my niche.  It is quite possible I will never find it, and that I will have decide which of my “trades” can be my “niche”.  I think I will always be close to living in a cardboard box, though, because I don’t really care about money.  

I would rather be a missionary overseas more than anything else.  

I really do not have a preference as to what I end up doing as a missionary, I guess I just have to choose a “niche” and a location.

Perhaps I am not searching.  Maybe I am procrastinating.  Perhaps the answer is right in front of me, and I have yet to rub the sleep out of eyes to gain a clear focus.  Excuses for my lack of quick-decision-making skills.

After all, it is not rare for me to use half an hour in determining which flavor of soy /rice/coconut milk ice cream I want.                        

 

 

Tagged , , ,

8 thoughts on “the quest

  1. Caroline says:

    It really is starting to get kinda creepy at how alike we are.

    I also would consider myself a jack of all trades, master of none. And it gets frustrating. Other people get to be awesome at one thing, why do I just have to be pretty decent at most? Then again, that savors strongly of whining/self-pity.

    I don’t know.
    Just know you aren’t the only one whose niche is currently hiding.

  2. Sabrina says:

    hehe, yeah. slightly scary.
    when i’m feeling positive, i like to think of myself as “well-rounded”, but that perspective sounds prideful. whaddya do with that? whiney or prideful. where is the happy medium?

    we should form a club. 😉

  3. Matty O says:

    club? I’m in

  4. Caroline says:

    I don’t see anything prideful about knowing that you’re well-rounded. I, however, cannot get around the whininess (how does one even spell “whiney-ness”?) of being “just decent” at too many things.

    If we start a club, I would like to get tshirts. Organic cotton, of course.
    I suppose for ecological reasons, foam fingers are out?

    🙂

  5. kwihee says:

    darn. i wish i could be a part of this club…but i’m just too good at excelling at everything i undertake. ;D
    ha! don’t make t-shirts with an arrow through my smug face, ok?

  6. Sabrina says:

    @caroline: yes, organic (fair-trade) cotton shirts for all. ;o)

    @bren: think you’re too good for the likes of us? we shall see. 😉 you may be correct.

  7. kwihee says:

    i’m at least good at bs-ing that’s for sure. one day i will rule the world and people everywhere will love me!

  8. Nancy says:

    Yep, this all sounds too familiar…I wonder why? I was always ‘classified’ as your average ‘Jane Doe” nothing outstanding in any area. I am able to do different things…but I don’t really excell so to speak. Yeah I wanted to be a missionary more than anything…and a part of me still does…but life happens!!

Leave a Reply

