Politics and government *gulp*

I was talking to my roommate the other day. She has some interesting viewpoints; ones that I had not heard before. I’m not usually one to discuss politics, but I am interested in different viewpoints.

She is a pacifist, and she is more. Or is she? I knew what pacificsm was, but I had not heard it explained. Of course, I was not surprised that she used Romans 13 and 1 Peter 2 to defend her position, but there are a few things she said I have been thinking about. I’m not quoting her statements, only summarizing them.

“Obedience is not the same thing as submission.”
I’m still thinking this through. Are they really mutually exclusive? Can they be?

“Christians are too concerned with their rights.”
Now, I can agree with this in a sense. Humans in general are pre-disposed to selfishness. Christians can be overzealous in fighting for political rights-I believe I mentioned something like this in another entry. But are Christians really to do nothing about the privileges that come with being a citizen? Didn’t Paul appeal to his rights as a Roman citizen? Why did Justin Martyr write in the defense of Christians?

“In the Old Testament, God gave specific instructions for war…that hasn’t happened since…therefore, war is wrong.”
I don’t know about this one.

“Voting doesn’t matter…immorality is going to become rampant in its own time….it doesn’t matter who is office.”
True, God is sovereign. But the obvious question is, what about being a responsible citizen within the type of government one is under? Are Christians not supposed to be involved in government? Is it wrong for Christians to hold various offices for the purpose of enforcing moral, Christian values? Should Christians just stand back and do nothing?

A lot of questions to answer. Are there concrete answers? Can we legitimately take Paul’s idea of submission and apply it to every form of contemporary government?

I’m afraid I don’t have all the answers. But I can tell you I’ll be looking for answers, and if I find something worth sharing, I’ll share it. In the meantime, please let me know what your thoughts are.

Leave a Reply

