confession

It seems I’ve been quite the slacker this summer. I had better intentions for this blog, and I regret now not having put the time that summer normally gives into this blog. My apologies to the few who would actually read this :). I hope to get things rolling again this week, although it may be a little slow.

To top things off, I’ve been unexpectedly 🙂 tagged by Cliff, or as students of DrV(arner) know him, Clive. 🙂

1. One book that changed your life.

Well, of course the Bible. I’m tempted to leave it at that because I have such a hard time making decisions :). Um, probably Basics of Biblical Greek.

2. One book that you’ve read more than once.

Hehe. Can I be completely random? Eating Well for Optimum Health

3. One book you’d want on a desert island.

Just one? How horrible. That’s depressing, if you ask me. I’d definitely want my Bible. If I had the entire vocab of the Greek NT memorized I might take that. Maybe Is There a Meaning in This Text?

4. One book that made you laugh.

I remember when I used to read a lot of novels. With my sense of humor, however, I can usually find something to laugh at in 80% of the books I read.

5. One book that made you cry.

It was probably a novel.

6. One book that you wish had been written.

Well, right now I’m wishing someone would have written a flawless commentary of Revelation. **EDIT** According to Cliff (and thank you), flawless commentaries have been written. So now I have to change my answer. Or should I? I don’t have an infinite knowledge of books. Oh, I know. How to Survive First Year Hebrew with Dr. Boyd

7. One book that you wish had never been written.

Jesus and Buddha

8. One book you’re currently reading.

Text of the New Testament

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read.

A meaningful book or just a book? I enjoy being random. A Generous Orthodoxy , God, Language and Scripture , Crime and Punishment (which I started, but never finished).

10. Now tag five people.
Who is left to tag? If you happen to read this and haven’t done it yet, consider yourself tagged.

It would seem that the obvious answer to the vast majority of these questions is…”Bible”….hmm…

One thought on “confession

  1. Clifford B. Kvidahl says:

    “6. One book that you wish had been written.
    Well, right now I’m wishing someone would have written a flawless commentary of Revelation.”

    Someone has, Greg Beale! His commentary on Revelation (in the New International Greek Testament Commentary series) is amazing! Warning: he is amill. But his exegesis is superub. Other well done commentaries include:

    David Aune: 3 vol Word Biblical Commentary
    Robert Thomas: 2 vol set

Leave a Reply

